Currency Museum









Sci-Engg -2

Sci-Engg -1

6. Orissa related stamps issued by India

Utkal Gourab Madhusudan Das (1848 ~ 1934)

The Konark Sun Temple and the Konark Elephant. The Konark Wheel  was also featured on the old 20 Rupees note issued by RBI.


Cities of India - Cuttack

Hirakud Dam across the Mahanadi is one of the world's longest dams (25 kms) and generates 275 MWe power

Shri Krushna Chandra Gajapati College, Parlakhemundi (Est: 1857) is probably the oldest college in Orissa.

Orissa has 3 of the world's largest Olive Ridley Sea Turtle Rookeries (Gahirmatha, Devi Muhan, Rushikulya)

Odissi Dance

Lord Jagannath Temple, Puri

Lingaraj Temple, Bhubaneswar

Dasavtar from Jayadev's  Geetgovind

Netaji Subhas Bose  was born in Cuttack

Dr. V.V.Giri, President of India from 1969 ~ 1974 was from Berhampur, Orissa

Pathani Samanta Chandrasekhar (1835-1904) was an eminent astronomer of Orissa. He was conferred the title ‘Mahamahoadhyaya’ by the British government in 1893, in recognition to his contribution in the field of astronomy. He achieved great expertise in traditional Indian astronomy. During his research, he constructed many instruments using the local available materials like wooden sticks and bamboo pieces. His knowledge in astronomy ensured that these instruments had great accuracy in their measurement. His findings are recorded in his book titled ‘Siddhanta Darpana’, which is written in Sanskrit. This book won him wide acclaim and fame. Pathani Samanta Chandrasekhar’s calculations are referred in the preparation of almanacs in Orissa. The Pathani Samanta Planetarium in Bhubaneswar is named after him.

Fakir Mohan Senapati

Harekrishna Mahatab

Maharaj K.C. Gajapati

Utkalmani Pandit Gopabandhu Das (1877 ~ 1928)

Biju Patnaik (1916 ~ 1997)

Next >>

" the language of stone surpasses the language of man."    
~ Rabindranath Tagore on Konark Sun Temple



Stamp Home

<< Back

Manoj Patnaik

Stamp Museum

Computing Museum