Currency Museum









Sci-Engg -2

Sci-Engg -1

3. Noted Indian Industrialists featured on stamps

Ardeshir Godrej (1868-1936) was the inventive half of the Godrej Brothers Company, the precursor of the Godrej Group of companies.

Pirojsha Godrej (1882-1972) was an Indian businessman who laid the foundations for what is today the Godrej Industries Group. Working with his elder brother Ardeshir Godrej, who was the inventive force behind the partnership, Pirojsha made Godrej a household name in India.  Godrej’s first major products were Locks and fireproof safes.

Dr. Krishna Kumar Birla (1918 – 2008) was a noted Indian industrialist of the Birla family, and the second son of Ghanshyam Das Birla. Birla was the group chairman of the Zuari-Chambal group of companies with a turnover of Rs.10,000 crores. He was also the Chairman of ZUARI-CHAMBAL-PARADEEP, India's largest fertilizer combine in private sector.

Ghanshyam Das "G.D." Birla (1894 –1983) was an Indian businessman and member of the influential Birla Family. Ghanshyam Das Birla, a doyen of Indian industry was the man who laid the foundations of the Birla Empire and the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI).

Seth Walchand Hirachand (1882 – 1953) was an Indian industrialist. In 1945, he established Premier Automobiles near Bombay. He also believed that there was a strong need for a shipyard in the country and started work on it in 1940 at Visakhapatnam which was named Hindustan Shipyard Ltd. He started the Hindustan Aircraft company in Bangalore which later became the Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd.

Ardaseer Cursetjee Wadia (1808 – 1877) was an Indian shipbuilder and engineer. He is noted for having been the first Indian to be elected a Fellow of the Royal Society. He is also recorded as having introduced several (at the time) novel technologies to the city of Bombay, including gas lighting, the sewing machine, steam pump-driven irrigation and electro-plating.

Henning Holck-Larsen (1907 - 2003) was from Denmark who co-founded the Indian engineering firm Larsen & Toubro (L&T). He came to India in 1937 as a chemical engineer working for a Danish firm. Partnering with his former schoolmate and fellow employee Søren Kristian Toubro, he set up Larsen & Toubro in 1938. Larsen and Toubro saw opportunities in India at time, when few Europeans had realized the country's potential for industrial growth.

Jamnalal Bajaj (1884 –1942) was an Rajasthani industrialist, a philanthropist, and Indian independence fighter.. He founded the Bajaj group of companies in the 30s. The group now has 24 companies, including 6 listed companies. Besides Bajaj Auto Ltd, the other major companies in the group include Mukand Ltd, Bajaj Electricals Ltd and Bajaj Hindustan Ltd. One of his grandsons, Rahul Bajaj, runs the family flagship company, Bajaj Auto..

Shantanurao Laxmanrao Kirloskar (1903 -1994) was an Indian businessman who was instrumental behind the rapid growth of the Kirloskar Group. After the end of World War II, the Kirloskar Group grew rapidly under the leadership of S. L. Kirloskar. In 1946, he established Kirloskar Electric Company and Kirloskar Oil Engines Limited at Bangalore and Pune respectively. He is credited with developing the manufacture of diesel engine indigenously as an import substitute after India attained independence.

Laxmanrao Kashinath Kirloskar (1869-1956) was an Indian businessman. He was the founder of the Kirloskar Group.In 1888, he set up his first venture - a small bicycle repair shop at Belgaum. Strongly believing in agricultural implements both as a business and social requirement, he manufactured iron ploughs, the first Kirloskar products.

Dhirubhai Ambani (1932 – 2002) was a business tycoon who founded Reliance Industries in Mumbai. Dhirubhai started off as a small time worker with Arab merchants in the 1950s and moved to Mumbai in 1958 to start his own business in spices. After making modest profits, he moved into textiles and opened his mill near Ahmedabad. Dhirubhai founded Reliance Industries in 1958. Reliance, acknowledged as one of the best-run companies in the world has various sectors like petrochemicals, textiles and is involved in the production of crude oil and gas, to polyester and polymer products. The company’s refinery at Jamnagar accounts for over 25% of India's total refining capacity and their plant at Hazira is the biggest chemical complex in India. The company has further diversified into Telecom, Insurance and Internet Businesses, the Power Sector etc.

Jehangir Ratanji Dadabhoy (J.R.D.) Tata (1904 – 1993) was a pioneer aviator and important businessman of India. He was awarded India's highest civilian award, the Bharat Ratna in 1992. He later came to be known as the father of Indian civil aviation. He founded India's first commercial airline, 'Tata Airlines', in 1932, which in 1946 became Air India, now India's national airline. At the age of 34, he became Chairman of Tata Sons, the holding Company of the Tata Group. For decades, J R D directed the huge Tata Group of companies, with major interests in Steel, Engineering, Power, Chemicals and Hospitality. He was famous for succeeding in business while maintaining high ethical standards. The Tata Institute of Fundamental Research was founded by Dr. Homi Bhabha  after he approached J.R.D Tata requesting his support towards the establishing of a scientific institution. The institution was founded in 1945

Jamshetji Nusserwanji Tata (1839 - 1904) was an Indian entrepreneur and industrialist, prominent for his pioneering work in Indian industry. He founded what would later become the Tata Group of companies. Jamsetji Tata is regarded as the "father of Indian industry".  He founded the Tata Iron and Steel Company Limited now known as Tata Steel and also the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore and the Tata Hydroelectric Power Supply Company.(Tata Power)

 The effective execution of a plan is what counts and not mere planning on paper; it is not what we put on our plate or even what we eat that provides nourishment and growth, but what we digest.
                                                                                                                            ~ JRD Tata

Next >>



Stamp Home

<< Back

Manoj Patnaik

Stamp Museum

Computing Museum